About CTCC

Page last updated: 9 March 2022

Present Day

Cape Town Cricket Club fields five teams across Western Province Cricket Association, one in the Friendly Cricketers Association and one in the Western Province Veterans Cricket Association.

  • First XI (premier league)
  • Second XI (reserve division A)
  • Third XI (third division A)
  • Fourth XI (third division B)
  • Fifth XI (third division B)
  • Sixth XI (Western Province Veterans Cricket Association)
  • Seventh XI (Friendly Cricketers Association)


  • Download ‘Playing The Game – The Story of Cape Town Cricket Club’ (835-page, 32-MB PDF)

The roots of the present Cape Town Cricket Club extend back to the year 1857, making it one of the oldest cricket clubs in South Africa. The driving force behind the establishment of the club was one William Thomas Hancock Sherman – an exceptional cricket player who became the first president of the club in that year.

The club was re-organised in 1860 by cricketers resident in Cape Town and played on under various guises until 1888 when, a significant re-organisation pertaining to the cricket circles of the Mother City took place, and Cape Town Cricket Club emerged as a force to be reckoned with…

The club founded in 1857 morphed in 1888 into a formidable organisation which was to challenge the cricket establishment of the Western Province in every way. Central to all of this was a merger in that year which included the Leeuwenhof Cricket Club and the Gardens Cricket Club…

  • Download ‘Playing The Game – The Story of Cape Town Cricket Club’ (835-page, 32-MB PDF)